Some thoughts on minimalism

So recently I read the book The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo and suddenly I felt the urge to tidy up everything around me. 😀 I had been interested in minimalism for quite a while even before reading it because I feel that owning less and getting rid off things that have no use for me anymore makes me feel lighter and like the things I do own all have a purpose.

As a child I was a bit of a hoarder I think because that’s how my parents have been as well, I had so many toys, books, papers and mementos that I felt that my room was often messy and overflowing with stuff. My parents would keep souvenirs from all our holidays and many seemingly useless things “just in case” we ever needed them, as if there weren’t shops easily available in case you did really need some of it in the future, and in the meantime it was just a waste of space. So eventually I started decluttering my own bedroom and I found that I could live just as easily without all that stuff, often even more easily.

I never would have called myself a minimalist at the time though as I didn’t know much about it and I thought it only applied to interior design, but subconciously I would regularly go through my possessions and declutter wherever possible. I find that decluttering can be a bit addicting because it makes us feel good to see how clean and light it looks to have less, so be aware of how much you declutter so that you actually have something left! 😀

One of my inspirations for becoming more minimalistic is actually a youtuber and blogger Jenny Mustard whom I started following only this year. That is when I fully realised what minimalism means and that it can be applied to all aspects of our lives, that it can actually be a lifestyle. It appealed to me but not to the point that I’d want to own very little, I like to have choices in my clothing and make-up for example of course. I just gave away what I didn’t like anymore, and that was good enough for me.

For this reason I liked the book by Marie Kondo where she says that we should keep only things that make us happy (and things we actually need too obviously, like important documents and all that boring stuff). Minimalism shouldn’t be a competition about who owns less but about keeping only meaningful things. Having less in general also leads to more tidy rooms because they don’t get cluttered as easily at least, you know where everything is and we’re not unnecessarily stressed because of it.

In the book there were also lots of helpful tips on how to tidy up properly, such as the order in which we should declutter (clothes – books – papers – miscellaneous – sentimental things), how to fold the right way  (I learnt that I’d been folding my clothes wrong my whole life 😀 ), declutter/tidy based on the category of things instead of based on its location (for example there can be clothes all over your flat instead of just in your bedroom, so don’t forget about those), when stacking things do it vertically instead of horizontally (it will be easier to get to and you’ll know exactly how much of it you have), and don’t declutter in the presence of your family because they might insist on keeping the stuff when you want to get rid off it – I also know this from experience. 😀 Overall the book was pretty helpful to me and in a way also kind of entertaining because Marie is a bit of a freak about it and it really comes across how much she loves tidying and decluttering which is so unusual haha.

Let me know what you think about minimalism and whether you already consider yourself to be a minimalist 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

